Work groups

Our work groups are international cooperation initiatives developed within the ICARUS network. Each of them focuses on a different aspect of future-oriented archival work and has its own agenda. We join efforts to inspire and support new work groups that have their freedom to solely focus on a specific content-centered agenda guaranteed.

MOM-CA

MOM-CA refers to the technical development of the Monasterium – Collaborative Archive. Continue to their Github page for further information!

Coordinator: Georg Vogeler, University of Graz (AT)

  • Manfred Thaller, University of Cologne (DE)
  • Jochen Graf, University of Cologne (DE)
  • Karl Heinz, ICARUS
  • Daniel Jeller, ICARUS

Didactics

The Didactics work group focuses specifically on theory and methodology behind teaching with digital technologies. European scholars, tutors and archivists have build a solid digital learning environment that is open to teachers, researchers or scholars, who work at a university or another cultural institution. See their website for more information.

Coordinator: Antonella Ambrosio, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (IT)

Cadastral Maps

The idea behind this work group was to build a framework, which can foster effective future cooperation in the field of cadastral maps. Furthermore, another aim is the digitization and GIS-based internet-publication of the cadastral maps — and, when possible, also of the connected cadastral records — from the former Habsburg Monarchy (since 1867 Austro-Hungarian Monarchy) based on common standards and methods. The new and innovative methods of presenting geo-referenced cadastral maps online can be easily enlarged to cover other types of documents or even other European areas or periods.

Coordinator: András Sipos, Budapest City Archives (HU)

  • Budapest City Archives (HU)
  • Hungarian State Archives (HU)
  • Krakow State Archives (PL)
  • Croatian State Archives (HR)
  • Montenegrinian State Archives (ME)
  • Opava State Archives (CZ)

Population Registers

In late 2011, several members of ICARUS came together to establish the Work Group “Population Registers”. Parish or sacramental registers are the most popular sources for family history. In a large number of countries these registers have been taken to state or church archives. Many archivists devote much of their time to making them accessible. ICARUS provides the portal Matricula, which allows access to registers in Austria and Germany. It is the aim of the working group to increase the professional quality of the description, accessibility and online presentation of registers. The working group also aims at broadening the scope of the registers made accessible online. Therefore every archive, which has in its custody any kind of population registers, e.g. school and university registers, citizens’ registers, military lists, registers of exiled people and refugees, members’ lists of associations of all kinds, etc., is invited to join this group.

Coordinator: Herbert Wurster, Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Passau, Bavaria (DE)

Arbeitsgruppen

Unsere Arbeitsgruppen sind internationale Kooperationsinitiativen, die innerhalb des ICARUS-Netzwerks entstanden sind. Jede dieser Gruppen konzentriert sich auf einen spezifischen Aspekt zukunftsorientierter Archivarbeit und hat somit seine eigene, individuelle Agenda. Wir bündeln unsere Kräfte um neue Arbeitsgruppen zu inspirieren und zu unterstützen. Dabei sorgen wir dafür, dass eben jene Gruppen die absolute Freiheit genießen, sich ausschließlich um ihre inhaltlichen Belange zu konzentrieren.

MOM-CA

MOM-CA bezieht sich auf die technische Entwicklung von Monasterium, dem kollaborativen, virtuellen Urkundenarchiv: MOM-CA = MonasteriumCollaborative Archive. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf ihrer Github-Seite.

Koordinator: Georg Vogeler, Universität Graz (AT)

  • Manfred Thaller, Universität Köln (DE)
  • Jochen Graf, Universität Köln (DE)
  • Karl Heinz, ICARUS
  • Daniel Jeller, ICARUS

Didaktik

Die Didaktik-Arbeitsgruppe richtet ihre Aufmerksamkeit auf die Theorie und Methodologie der Lehre mit digitalen, technischen Hilfsmitteln. Europäische Gelehrte, Tutoren und Archivare haben eine solide digitale Lernumgebung erstellt, welche Lehrenden, Forschenden und Gelehrten, die an Universitäten oder ähnlichen Bildungseinrichtungen tätig sind, zur Verfügung steht.  Weiterführende Informationen finden Sie hier.

Koordinatorin: Antonella Ambrosio, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (IT)

Katasterkarten

Die Idee dieser Arbeitsgruppe ist es, ein System zu erstellen, mit Hilfe dessen effektive, zukunftsorientierte Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der Katasterkarten realisiert werden kann. Die Digitalisierung und GIS-basierten Online-Publikationen der Katasterkarten — und, wenn möglich in Verbindung mit den dazugehörigen Katastereinträgen — der vormaligen Habsburger Monarchie (seit 1867 Österreichisch-Ungarische Monarchie) basieren auf gemeinsamen Standards und Methoden. Diese neue und innovative Methode geo-referenzierte Katasterkarten digital darzustellen kann ohne weiteres auf anderweitige Dokumente oder sogar andere europäische Gebiete und Zeitalter angewandt werden.

Koordinator: András Sipos, Stadtarchiv Budapest (HU)

  • Budapest City Archives (HU)
  • Hungarian National Archives (HU)
  • Krakow State Archives (PL)
  • Croatian State Archives (HR)
  • Montenegrinian State Archives (ME)
  • Opava State Archives (CZ)

Bevölkerungsregister

Ende 2011 haben sich einige ICARUS-Mitglieder zusammengetan um die Arbeitsgruppe „Population Registers“ ins Leben zu rufen. Sterbe- bzw. Sakramentsregister sind die bekanntesten Quellen, wenn es um Familienforschung geht. In vielen Ländern sind diese Register in Staats- und/oder Kirchenarchiven gelagert. Eine Vielzahl von Archivaren kümmert sich verantwortungsvoll darum, die Register öffentlich zugänglich zu machen. ICARUS betreibt das Online-Portal Matricula, das es ermöglicht auf die österreichischen sowie deutschen Register zuzugreifen. Ziel dieser Arbeitsgruppe ist es, die Qualität der Metadaten, die Zugänglichkeit und nicht zuletzt die digitale Präsentation der Register zu optimieren. Darüber hinaus soll auch der Umfang der online zugänglichen Register erweitert werden. Daher ist jedes Archiv, das in Besitz von Bevölkerungsregistern ist (Schul- und Universitätsregister, Militärlisten, Register von Exilanten und Flüchtlingen, Mitgliederlisten von Verbänden etc.), eingeladen, dieser Gruppe beizutreten.

Koordinator: Herbert Wurster, Archiv des Bistums Passau, Bayern (DE)