The Association

The ICARUS consortium keenly supports archives and related institutions in rising to the challenges of the digital era. Based on the principle of complementarity the new tasks and challenges resulting from the advancing digital technologies can be faced together as a community. To be successful it is fundamental to not only effectively build up and maintain electronic infrastructures and shared standards and strategies, but to also jointly develop new approaches for international cooperation, which facilitate

  • the sharing of specific expertise and know-how,
  • the possibility for finding and developing additional funding schemes, and
  • the build-up and promotion of online content.

Simply put:

The ICARUS community adds to and creates value for already existing activities, and links networks in order to help archival and scientific institutions join forces.

ICARUS is organized as an association under Austrian Law, consisting of more than 180 public bodies from over 30 European states and Canada. Its basic aims and goals are defined in its constitution, which is determined by the association’s General Assembly. The Executive Board is responsible for the Association’s basic economic and strategic goals. Based on the Rules of Procedure, given by the Executive Board, the Management carries out the Association’s day-to-day business.

Executive Board

The Management of the Association is incumbent upon the Executive Board, chaired by the President, who is in charge of the ongoing business activities and acts as the Association’s main representative. He is supported by two Vice-Presidents. The Treasurer, the Secretary and their proxies as well as the co-opted members complete the Board. On May 29th, 2017 the General Assembly in Tartu (Estonia) elected the current Management to be in office from 2017 to 2020 and, respectively, co-opted the following persons into the Executive Board:

  • President

    • Thomas Aigner, St. Pölten Episcopal Archive (AT)
  • Vice-Presidents

    • Vlatka Lemić, Head of University Archives at the University of Zagreb (HR)
    • Antonella Ambrosio, University of Naples “Federico II.“ (IT)
  • Treasurer

    • Herbert Wurster, Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Passau (DE)
  • Treasurer Deputy

    • Zarko Vujošević, University of Belgrade – Faculty of Philosophy (RS)
  • Secretary

    • Martina Bolom-Kotari, University of Hradec Králové – Faculty of Philosophy (CZ)
  • Secretary Deputy

    • Francesco Roberg, Hessian State Archives in Marburg (DE)
  • Administrator

    • Karl Heinz, International Centre for Archival Research (ICARUS, AT)
  • Co-opted Members

    • Tomi Ahoranta (National Archives of Finland, FI)
    • Peer Boselie (Stichting De Domijnen, NL)
    • Ladislav Dobrica (National Archives of Croatia, HR)
    • István Kenyeres (Budapest City Archives, HU)
    • Birgit Kibal (National Archives of Estonia, EE)
    • Adelheid Krah (Institute for History, University Vienna, AT)
    • Jitka Křečková (Czech National Archives, CZ)
    • Maria Larsson Östergren (Swedish National Archives, SE)
    • Andreas Nestl (State Archives of Bavaria, DE)
    • Codruța Mihailovici (National Archives of Romania, RO)
    • Alena Pazderova (Czech National Archives, CZ)
    • Monika Pékova (Slovak National Archives, SK)
    • Hannelore Putz (Archives of the Diocese of Passau, DE)
    • Radoslav Ragač (Ministry of Culture, SK)
    • Csaba Reisz (National Archive of Hungary, HU)
    • José Rocha (CEHR – Centro de Estudos de História Religiosa, Universidade Católica Portuguesa, PT)
    • Manuel Salamanca (University Complutense in Madrid, ES)
    • Thomas Scharf-Wrede (Archives of the Diocese of Hildesheim, DE)
    • Dominique Stutzmann (Institut de Recherche et d’Histoire des Textes, FR)
    • Przemysław Wiszewski (Institute for History, University Wrocław, PL)
  • Controllers

    • Patricia Engel, Danube University of Krems (AT)
    • Artur Dirmeier, Archives of the Hospital of St. Catherine in Regensburg (De)

The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees supports and advises the Managing Board whenever scientific and economic expertise is needed. The current members are:

  • em. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Karl Brunner: Institut für Österreichische Geschichtsforschung (AT)
  • Dir. PhDr. Eva Drašarová: Narodní archiv Praha (CZ)
  • PhDr. Matevž Košir: Arhiv Republike Slovenije (SI)
  • Gen.-Dir. Dr. Margit Ksoll-Marcon: Generaldirektion der Staatlichen Archive Bayerns (DE)
  • Dir. Dr. Gerhart Marckhgott: Oberösterreichisches Landesarchiv (AT)
  • Gen.-Dir. a. D. Prof. Dr. Lorenz Mikoletzky, Österreichisches Staatsarchiv (AT)
  • Univ.-Prof. Manfred Thaller, Universität Köln, Historisch-Kulturwissenschaftliche Informationsbearbeitung (DE)
  • Ing. Jozef Hanus, CSc.: Odbor archívov a registratúr, Ministerstvo vnútra Slovenskej republiky (SK)

Honorary Members

The Honorary Members are nominated as a result of their particular contribution to the Association. The General Assembly decides upon the motion of the Managing Board.

  • Vácslav Babička, Czech Republic (2009) († 2012)
  • Karl Brunner, Austria (2009)
  • Lorenz Mikoletzy, Austria (2009)
  • Jozef Hanus, Slovak Republic (2013)
  • Manfred Thaller, Germany (2015)
  • Alena Pazderova, Czech Republic (2018)
  • Herbert Wurster, Germany (2018)